2010: friends, festivals and fun

So here we are, at the start of another year. It’s scary to think that the next time I write a round-up of my year, I’ll no longer be a teenager. But hey, that’s a year away. Anything could happen between now and then.

What’s happened in 2010? Well, I started it off with a few A level modules, as you do. The first few months were pretty standard; school, work and hanging out with friends. There’s never a lot of exciting things at the start of the year, really. I went to see Lady Gaga at the O2, which was a really good performance, but that’s about it in terms of excitement.

I left school in May, only having to go back in for exams. I’ve been at the same school since I was eleven, and it’s been a pretty big part of my life for seven years. On the last day we went to the park next to the school for the afternoon until all the teachers came out and we went to the pub. Of course, we were dressed in our old uniforms, and I have to say, attempting a human pyramid in a skirt is something I’m not planning on repeating in a hurry.

Once my exams were over, it was time to relax and forget about them. I took a trip up to Coventry to visit friends, which was a good laugh, even if we did have to constanty inform Mark of the location of his bike every five minutes. It was one of several train journeys I made to new places this year, and I have to say I rather enjoy travelling around the country. Hopefully 2011 will bring some more.

August saw my first festival. I went to V Festival in Chelmsford with three of my friends from school, and we had such a good time. It’s hard to pick a highlight, but I’d have to go with Kasabian’s headline performance on Sunday. It was tipping with rain, but the crowd went wild, and when you’re in the fourth row, it doesn’t really matter. The atmosphere was incredible. I’d definitely recommend the festival experience to anyone that hasn’t tried it; I really didn’t want to leave.

The timing of V Fest was such that we went the day after A level results day. I did really well (ABBC) and so got into Bournemouth University. I was shaking so much when I went online to check Track at half six that morning, and the whole house was awake by seven. I desperately wanted to go to Bournemouth; even though I liked Nottingham Trent, which was my insurance choice, Bournemouth was where I knew I wanted to go.

There was a month between results and moving to uni, and in that time I did so much shopping for everything I knew I was going to need. I quit my job at Morrisons and said goodbye to everyone, then in September, I left London for the south coast.

I have to say, I love it there. The work’s hard, but I’ve got some awesome friends and it’s such a nice town to live in. I’ve grown up so much since moving to uni, but I wouldn’t change it at all. I’m going back in a week, and I’ve actually missed it.

Anyway, that’s my 2010 wrapped up. Here’s to a top 2011.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

