Summer lovin’, having a blast

For everyone who has been on exams the past couple of months, they’re finally over. The IB results were released today, with GCSE and A Level ones towards the end of August. One of the advantages of exams is the early start to the summer holidays, giving the chance to tan in the garden and beat the crowds to places while the younger years are still in school.

I don’t know if I’m the only one who’s noticed this, but while exams are still coming up, and you’re supposed to be revising, there seems and endless list of things that need doing. Films that are on TV that you haven’t seen in a while, new clothes that need buying for the upcoming summer, a bedroom that is so messy you can’t see the carpet most of the time. Anything except revision.

Once the exams are over, however, it’s a different matter. Try as you might, there doesn’t seem to be enough to do to fill the days. You can get through a box set of DVDs in a couple of days, and there’s only a certain degree of tidiness your room can be. Then shopping takes over, but money is a problem, as there’s only a limited amount of cash that has to be stretched over two months.

I don’t know how I’m going to fill my days. I’m working on a novel, 33,000 words in, that I hope to finish by the end of the summer. I’ve got a few days out planned. But I can still see myself getting bored.

I suppose the summer holidays are like everything, really. When you don’t have it, you want it desperately. When it’s there, it’s not always as great as you’d hoped it would be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summer lovin’, having a blast

  1. LM Preston says:

    I love summer, but it seems to be much shorter for me this year.

  2. Lia says:

    The first two weeks of summer are always the best.

    Now, I just want to get back to school :]

  3. sayssara says:

    Make the most of this time, Sophie, when the summer stretches endlessly and you have nothing in particular to do. You might feel you have lots of time and no money, but when you start work, and you find you’ve got money and no time, you will miss these summers.

    Writing your novel sounds like a good plan. That’s how I used to fill my summer holidays, before I started working and suddenly all my time was eaten up.

    Sara

Leave a Reply

