Peter Pan didn’t want to grow up.

After seeing other people muse about why they don’t want to grow up, I figured it was time I compiled my top three reasons. Of course, there’s all the awesome things about being older, such as driving, drinking (but not at the same time) and no school. Then there’s also the hardships, such as fending for yourself, being throw in at the deep end in a much harsher world. But my top three reasons for not wanting to grow up are:

1) Fear of the unknown. I think that terrifies me the most, to be honest. Right now, I’m in my own cosy little hyperactive world, and I’m shitting myself about having to move out of it. I don’t know whether I’m going to get into Bournemouth, whether I’ll be good enough as a journalist, whether I’ll find one day I’ve made one great big cock-up and not have a get-out clause.

2) Responsibility and maturity. The two sort of tie in together. If you know me personally, you’ll know how immature I can be at times, and how irresponsible I am. Cooking myself a meal without burning it because I’ve forgotten about it is an achievement, really, for me.

3) Free bus travel ends. Now I know this sounds trivial, but bear with me. It’s an attachment to childhood, as it’s something I’ve had since it was brought in at the start of my teenage years. And when I have to start paying bus fares, not only does it mean I’ve got to be responsible with my money, but it means I’m no longer a kid anymore. I’m with all the adults, and I’ve got to behave like one. Not starjump from the stairs because it’s more fun.

Of course, I can’t fight the inevitable, and in just over a week, I’ll have to say au revoir to my childhood. But there’s nothing I can do about that, just hope that being an adult really isn’t as scary as it seems.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peter Pan didn’t want to grow up.

  1. Kaitlin says:

    lol *the angst*
    You still get to be a youth for a good while longer, don’t fear. I mean you have to at least finish uni before you really are forced to grow up (and even then, it depends on your parents–if they don’t make you move out, you don’t have to grow up! Just ask my sister.)
    It will be ok, I swear.

Leave a Reply

